2017 Grant Winners of Kwok Leung Memorial Dissertation Fund

The Kwok Leung Memorial Dissertation Fund was created to commemorate the life and work of Professor Kwok Leung, and to continue his mission of supporting young scholars. The fund is intended to support Ph.D. students who need funds to collect data to finish their dissertations. The fund is open to all doctoral students doing Chinese Management research.

It’s the 2nd year to invite proposals for the fund grant. The Call for Proposals was announced in March 2017. By the submission deadline of May 10, 2017, 15 valid proposals had been received from 13 universities such as Peking University, Tsinghua University, Sun Yat-Sen University, Nankai University and Huazhong University of Science and Technology. Among them, 8 students are from overseas universities like the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology,the Chinese University of Hong Kong, the Hong Kong Polytech University, Purdue University,Georgia State University and Boston University.

The IACMR Research Committee members, co-chaired by Chris Marquis (Cornell University) and Aichia Chuang (The National Taiwan University),reviewed and assessed the 15 proposals. The following 5 proposals(listed in alphabetical order of the authors’ last name) received highest review comments and have won the 2017 Grant of the Kwok Leung Memorial Dissertation Fund.

Impulsive and Strategic Abuse: Differentiation, Scale Development, and Examination on their Different Outcomes
Mingyun Huai (怀明云), The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

How to Construct Desirable Images in Diverse Teams: Examining the Dual-Path Self-Regulation Mechanism
Jiping Li (李继萍), The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Global Identity and Trust-Building with Western Stakeholders for Chinese Multinational Enterprise
Yen-hung (Steven) Liu (劉彥宏), Georgia State University

The Dark Side of High-Quality LMX: Relational Tensions and Their Impacts on Leaders and Members
Lusi Wu (吴璐斯), Purdue University

The Influence of Political Ties on Firm Growth
Wei Zheng (郑玮), Peking University

Each winner will be awarded RMB10,000 yuan. The awarding ceremony will take place at the IACMR business meeting at the AOM annual meeting on Aug. 6th, 2017.

Thanks to all the 15 doctoral students who submitted their proposals. The reviewers’ comments on each proposal will be sent to the respective applicants shortly.

Warm congratulations to the above winners!

IACMR China Office