IACMR Distinguished Scholarly Contribution Award

About the Award

IACMR Distinguished Scholarly Contribution (DSC) Award is given out every two years, in recognition of a scholar who has devoted much of their career to the study of Chinese management and has made significant contributions to the theory, methods, or practice of Chinese management. Winners are recognized leaders in the field who have enhanced the visibility of Chinese management research in the global community and inspired other researchers.  

The next winner will be recognized at the 2025 Biennial Conference in Xi’an, China. Past winners of this award can be seen here.

Eligibility.  All scholars are eligible for nomination. IACMR membership is not required. To avoid conflict of interest, members of the Distinguished Scholarly Contribution Award Committee cannot be nominated for this award. They cannot nominate candidates either. Deserving committee members may be nominated in subsequent years.

2025 Nominations Procedures

Nominations must include:

  • A nomination letter specifying the nominee’s name, a brief statement on the contributions to the field of Chinese management, and reasons for the nominee to receive the award.
  • The nominee’s full curriculum vitae with all basic information on the first page, including name, position, university and publications.
  • The nominator should seek the agreement of the nominee for the nomination. The nominee must attend the meeting to receive the award if selected.

All nominations must be submitted electronically to IACMR Office at with the title of ‘DSC Award Nomination’ by Sept. 6, 2024.

2025 Award Committee

Zhi-Xue Zhang, Peking University

Committee Members (in alphabetical order):

  • Yanjie Bian, University of Minnesota/Xi’an Jiaotong University
  • Xiao-Ping Chen, University of Washington
  • Ray Friedman, Vanderbilt University
  • Neng Liang, CEIBS

For more information, please contact IACMR Executive Office at