2018 Grant Winners of Kwok Leung Memorial Dissertation Fund

​The Kwok Leung Memorial Dissertation Fund was created to commemorate the life and work of Professor Kwok Leung, and to continue his mission of supporting young scholars. The fund is intended to support Ph.D. students who need funds to collect data to finish their dissertations. The fund is open to all doctoral students doing Chinese Management research. 

It’s the 3rd year to invite proposals for the fund grant. The Call for Proposals was announced on March 8, 2018. By the submission deadline of April 22, 2018, 20 valid proposals had been received from students of 15 universities such as Fudan University, Nottingham University Ningbo China, Peking University, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Tsinghua University and Xi’an Jiaotong University. Among them, 10 students are from overseas universities like Australian National University, Boston College, Cornell University, the Chinese University of Hong Kong, the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, the National Taiwan University, Singapore Management University and the University of Iowa.

The IACMR Research Committee members,  co-chaired by Chris Marquis (Cornell University) and Aichia Chuang (The National Taiwan University), reviewed and assessed the 20 proposals. The following five proposals (listed in alphabetical order of the authors’ last name) received highest review comments and have won the 2018 grants of the Kwok Leung Memorial Dissertation Fund.

Women in Innovation: Challenges and Opportunities
Mengzi Jin (金孟子), Singapore Management University

Strategic Corporate Social Responsibility: A Political Perspective
Qi Li (李琦), Cornell University

Knowledge Translation across Boundaries: Converting Scholarly Knowledge to Research Highlights for Management Practitioners
Yi Ren (任意), Boston College

How should I speak up in facilitating leader endorsement? Examining a Dual-Path Model
Rui Shu (舒睿), Shanghai Jiao Tong University

Wait, I thought you hated me: A dyad-level investigation of conflict asymmetry
Zhenyu Yuan (袁震宇), University of Iowa

Warm congratulations to the above winners! Each winner will be awarded RMB10,000 yuan. The awarding ceremony will take place at the Appreciation and Awarding Ceremony of the 2018 IACMR Conference on June 15th, 2018.

In the three years after Kwok passed away, we remember him each year by calling for proposals of the memorial fund. Thanks to donations of many scholars (see below for the name list of donors), we are able to offer grants each year to five doctoral students with best proposals. We would appreciate very much if you could join us to support Kwok’s mission to train up young scholars! Please contact Dr. Lerong He, IACMR Treasurer, at if you feel like to do so. Thank you for your kind attention and constant support!

List of donors:
Joel Brockner, Columbia University

Chao Chen (陈昭全), Rugsters University

Jenny Chan, China Development Financial

Sharon Zhen-Jiao Chen (陈振娇), Beijing Institute of Technology

Xiaoping Chen (陈晓萍), University of Washington

Ying Chen, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Zheng Xiong George Chen (陈镇雄), Australian National University

CityU EMBA cohort 2007, The City University of Hong Kong

Hong Deng (邓红), University of Birmingham

Miriam Erez, Israel Institute of Technology (Technion) 

Larry Farh (樊景立), CEIBS

Ray Friedman, Vanderbilt University

Na Gao

Giordano LTD

Ying-yi Hong & Chi-yue Chiu (康萤仪与赵志裕), The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Xu Huang (黄旭), The Hong Kong Baptist University

Liangding Jia (贾良定), Nanjing University

Chee Ying Lai

Fuli Li (李福荔), Xi’an Jiaotong University

Neng Liang (梁能), CEIBS

Hui Liao (廖卉), University of Maryland

Xiaowan Lin (林晓婉), University of Macau

Leigh Anne Liu (刘黎安), Georgia State University

Lin Lu (路琳), Shanghai Jiao Tong University

Tae-Youn Park, Vanderbilt University

Tai-kuang Peng, University of Texas at Dallas

Jason Shaw, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Siu Wing Yan Winne

Lynda Song and Yang Wang (宋继文与汪洋), Renmin University of China

Anne Tsui (徐淑英), Peking University, Fudan University and University of Notre Dame

Dean Tjosvold, Lingnan University


Jia Lin Xie (谢家琳), University of Toronto

Katherine Xin (忻榕), CEIBS

Haibin Yang (杨海滨), The City University of Hong Kong

Zhijun Yao (姚志君), IACMR

Inoue Yumi (梁觉教授夫人)

Anthea Yan Zhang & Haiyang Li (张燕与李海洋), Rice University

Kai Zhang (章凯), Renmin University of China

Xiaomeng Zhang (张晓萌), Cheung Kong Graduate School of Business

Yichi Zhang (张一驰), Peking University

Zhen Zhang (张震), Arizona State University

Zhixue Zhang (张志学), Peking University

Shuming Zhao (赵曙明), Nanjing University

Jing Zhou (周京), Rice University