2012 IACMR Hong Kong Conference

List of Winners, 2012 Fifth Biennial Conference, Hong Kong.
Distinguished Contribution Award

Michael Bond, Hong Kong Polytechnic University 

personal bio

Lifetime Contribution Award

John Child, University of Birmingham 

personal bio

Wiley-Blackwell Management and Organization Review Young Scholar Award
Chun Guo, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Distinguished Executive Award
Chuanzhi Liu, Chairman of Legend Holdings Ltd., and Founder and Honorary Chairman of Lenovo

Best Conference Macro Paper Award
Lu Zheng, Southwestern University of Finance and Economics
for “Political Embeddedness as a Double-edged Sword:  Firms in China’s Stock Market”

Best Conference Micro Paper Award
Xin Wei, University of International Business and Economics; Zhixue Zhang, Peking University; Xiaoping Chen, University of Washington
for “Why are People Afraid of Speaking up? A Multi-level Study of Prohibitive Voice in China”

Best Student Paper Award
Yipeng Liu, University of Mannheim
for “The Emergence of Chinese Solar Photovoltaics (PV) Industry: The Role of Returnee Entrepreneurs and Institutional Entrepreneurs”

Distinguished Contribution Award
This award is for a senior scholar who has devoted much of his/her career to the study of Chinese management and has made significant contributions to the field in theory, methodology or in explaining the workings of Chinese organizations or organizations in China; that has advanced the field and blazed a path for future researchers; and that has enhanced the visibility of Chinese management research by impacting the broader research community.

Early Career Achievement Award (formerly Scholarly Contribution Award)
This award will be provided to an up-and-coming scholar (typically someone who has been out for 5-10 years), who, through their current work shows a great promise for excellence in Chinese management research and who is likely to make significant future contributions in the area.  The scholar should be between five and ten years into their academic career.

Wiley-Blackwell Management and Organization Review Young Scholar Award
This Award aims to recognize young scholars’ contributions to the fields of managerial and organizational research. The award will go to a young author who has published in Management and Organization Review, and winning articles will be selected from Management and Organization Review every two years. Eligible authors must be either PhD students or those who have received their degree no more than five years prior to the publication date of the article and are the sole or first authors of the articles.
Click here for the Wiley-Blackwell Management and Organization Review Young Scholar Award flier

Best Student Paper Award
This award is given to a paper written by a student who is the sole author of the paper. Any topic is appropriate as long as the paper shows rigor in conceptualization and methods and contributes to new knowledge.

Best Conference Macro Paper Award
This award is given to a paper that deals with organizational level issues including strategy, structure, international management, multinational corporations, organizational growth and development, firm-environment relationships, or firm performance, etc.

Best Conference Micro Paper Award
This award is given to a paper that deals with individual and group level issues within the organizational setting, including topics such as leadership, motivation, conflict, group dynamics, individual attitudes and performance, as well as cross-cultural issues at the individual or group levels, etc.

Awards Committee Members,  2012 Conference, Hong Kong.

2012 Best Conference Paper Awards Committee

* Soon Ang, Nanyang Technological University (Co-chair)
* Haiyang Li, Rice University (Co-Chair)
* Garry Bruton, Texas christian University
* Carolyn Egri, Simon Fraser University
* Cynthia Lee, Northeastern University and The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
* Hui Liao, University of Maryland
* Jia Lin Xie, University of Toronto
* Xiaowei Luo, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
* Eric Tsang, University of Taxas at Dallas
* David Whetten, Brigham Young University

2012 Distinguished Scholarly Contribution Award Committee
    *  Chao C. Chen, Rutgers University (Co-chair)
*  Gordon Redding, INSEAD (Co-chair)
*  Ray Friedman, Vanderbilt University
*  Kwok Leung, City University of Hong Kong
*  Yuan Li, Shanghai Jiao Tong University
*  Andrew Van De Ven, University of Minnesota 

2012 Distinguished Executive Award Committee
*  Weiying Zhang, Peking University (Chair)
*  Marshall Meyer, University of Pennsylvania
*  Ning Li, Li Ning Company
*  Xinchun Li, Sun Yat-san University
*  Yuan Li, Shanghai Jiao Tong University
*  Chao Chen, Rutgers University