News Updates

2016 Grant Winners of Kwok Leung Memorial Dissertation Fund

The Kwok Leung Fund was created to commemorate the life and work of Professor Kwok Leung, and to continue his mission of supporting young scholars. The fund is intended to support Ph.D. students who need funds to collect data to finish their dissertations. The fund is open to all doctoral students doing Chinese Management research.

The Call for Proposals for the Kwok Leung Dissertation Fund was announced in Dec. 2015. By the submission deadline of March 15, 2016, 32 proposals had been received from 23 universities such as Peking University, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Xi’an Jiaotong University and Remin University of China. Among them, 9 students are from overseas universities like Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, University of Minnesota and National University of Singapore.

The IACMR Research Committee members, co-chaired by Haiyang Li (Rice University) and Xu Huang (Hong Kong Baptist University), reviewed and assessed the 32 proposals. The following 5 proposals (listed in alphabetical order of the authors’ last name) received highest review comments and have won the 2016 grant of the Kwok Leung Memorial Dissertation Fund.

Financing for Social Entrepreneurship in China: An Exploratory Study
Kun Guo , Peking University


Pain Is Not Always Detrimental: An Integrative Consequence Model of Episodic Abusive Leadership Behavior 
Zhenyu Liao, The National University of Singapore

How Organizational Failures Influence Trust from the Public: A Forgiveness Perspective
Donna Jingdan Yao, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Some Things, If not All Things, Are About Change: A Time-Based Theory of Abusive Supervision
Lingtao Yu, University of Minnesota

Antecedents and Processes of Chinese Firms’ New-to-the-world Innovations
Zhijing Zhu, The University of New South Wales

Each winner will be awarded RMB10,000 yuan. The awarding ceremony will take place at the IACMR biennial conference in Hangzhou, China on morning of June 17, 2016.

Thanks to all the 32 doctoral students who submitted their proposals and warm congratulations to the above winners!

IACMR China Office