2016 Conference (June 15-19, 2016)

2016 IACMR Lifetime Contribution Award Winner

2016 IACMR Lifetime Contribution Award

The International Association for Chinese Management Research takes pride in honoring a retired scholar who has made a significant contribution to the field of Chinese management research with the “IACMR Lifetime Contribution Award”. The recipient scholar should have made substantial contribution to Chinese management scholarship and have provided exemplary service to the IACMR. The process involves a nomination by an IACMR member with a nomination letter and a CV of the candidate and the candidates are assessed by the IACMR Lifetime Contribution Award Committee of prominent scholars. The Executive Committee of IACMR reviews and approves the recommendation by this Award Committee.

The 2016 IACMR Lifetime Contribution Award Committee consists of the following five members:

John Child, University of Birmingham (Chair and recipient of the IACMR Lifetime Contribution Award in 2012)
Jiing-Lih Larry Farh, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Arie Lewin, Duke University
Gordon Redding, European Institute of Business Administration (INSEAD)
Weiying Zhang, Peking University

The recipient of the “2016 Lifetime Contribution Award” is Professor Anne S. Tsui. We are honored to give this award to Professor Anne Tsui who is an outstanding international leader in organizational studies, and a founder of the Chinese management research movement. Over her 35 year career as a management scholar, Professor Anne Tsui has published over 100 articles and 12 books, and is one of the most cited authors in the field of management with over 20,000 citations according to Google scholar. Her articles have won some of the most prestigious research awards including the ASQ Distinguished Contribution Award, the AMJ and the JOM Best Paper Awards, the Center for Creative Leadership Applied Leadership Research Award, and the University of Minnesota (alumni) Outstanding Achievement Award. She has been a fellow of Academy of Management since 1997, a fellow of the Academy of International Business  since 2016 and she received an Honorary Doctorate in Economics from the University of St. Gallen in 2015.

Besides her scholarly contributions, Anne has devoted herself to serve our community with all her heart and soul. In 1994 she returned to Hong Kong and to become the founding head of the Department of Management at Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST). She served as the Editor-in-Chief of the Academy of Management Journal (AMJ) from 1996 to1999, and later as an elected officer of the Academy leading to the Presidency of AOM from 2008 to 2013. During her sabbatical year at Peking University in 2000-2001, Anne saw the pressing need for high quality management knowledge and scholarship in fast-developing China. This inspired her to found the International Association for Chinese Management Research (IACMR) in 2002, andManagement and Organization Review (MOR) in 2005. She has also done a lot in promoting the professional development of young scholars and doctoral students. For example, she co-founded the Chinese Management Scholar Research Method Workshop with Dr. Larry Farh in 1999, which aimed at equipping Chinese scholars with modern research methodology to conduct empirical research. She has served as a faculty advisor in this workshop over the years. In recognizing her immense contributions to the field, the Academy of Management awarded her its Distinguished Service Contribution Award in 2015.

Prof. Anne Tsui has now retired from the Arizona State University, after serving for over 35 years in the organization studies field.

In summary, Prof. Anne Tsui has made stellar contributions in research and service to the field of Chinese management. She is an exemplary scholar most deserving to receive the IACMR Lifetime Contribution Award.