2023 Grant Winners of Kwok Leung Memorial Dissertation Fund

Dear IACMR Community,

The Kwok Leung Memorial Dissertation Fund was created to commemorate the life and work of Professor Kwok Leung, and to continue his mission of supporting young scholars. The fund is intended to support Ph.D. students who need funds to collect data to finish their dissertations. The fund is open to all doctoral students doing Chinese Management research.

It’s the 8th year to invite proposals for the fund grant. The Call for Proposals was announced on March 13, 2023. By the submission deadline of April 15, 2023, 45 valid proposals had been received from students worldwide.

The IACMR Research Committee members, co-chaired by Lori (Qingyuan) Yue (Columbia Business School), Eric Zhao (University of Oxford), Ning Li (Tsinghua University) and Wu Liu (Hong Kong Polytechnic University) reviewed and assessed the submitted proposals. The following five proposals (listed in alphabetical order of the authors’ last name) received the highest ratings and have won Kwok Leung Memorial Dissertation Fund grants.

陈咏昶 (Yongchang Chen) Shanghai University of Finance and Economics

Interaction Profiles in Hierarchical Networks: Developing an Information Encoding Theory, Testing Dyadic Mechanisms, And Exploring Individual Implications 
洪天波 (Kris Mikel-Hong) Tsinghua University

Cosmetic Innovation in The Crosshairs: Navigating Geopolitical Tensions in China’s Beauty Industry 
林芳文 (Fangwen Lin) National University of Singapore

Should I Stay or Should I Go: The Contextualized Intersectionality Among Global Professionals
刘欣 (Xin Lucy Liu) Columbia University

It Takes Time: Unpacking the Role of Temporality In Shaping Our Career Future
汤明月 (Mingyue Tang) Peking University

Warm congratulations to the above winners! We will present awards to the winning authors at the IACMR 2023 Hong Kong Biennial Conference. The award ceremony is scheduled for June 16, 2023, from 9:00-10:00 am. We cordially invite all members to join us at the conference to share in their joy! Each winner will be awarded a grant of RMB10,000 yuan.

We take this opportunity to recognize the outstanding contributions of the reviewers! (Listed in alphabetical order of the reviewers’ last name)

Han Jiang, Tulane University 
Ning Li, Tsinghua University (Co-chair)
Wu Liu, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (Co-chair)
Cuili Qian, The University of Texas at Dallas
Shipeng Yan, The University of Hong Kong 
Lori (Qingyuan) Yue, Columbia Business School (Co-chair)
Eric Zhao, University of Oxford (Co-chair)

Thanks to donations of many scholars who made this award possible (please click here for the donors list). We would appreciate very much if you could join us to support Kwok’s mission of training young scholars! Please contact Dr. Lerong He, IACMR Treasurer, at if you feel like to do so. Thank you for your kind attention and constant support!

Zhi-Xue Zhang