IACMR Election

2024 IACMR New Officer Election

According to the Constitution and Bylaws of IACMR, the vice-president-elect and representatives-at-large are elected every two years. The elected officers this time will serve for the period of July 2024-June 2027. They will start their service from July 2024, as non-voting members observers on the board, and become voting members in June 2025 at the conclusion of the biennial conference.

a. The Nomination and Election Committee (N&E Committee), which includes members of the Past-Presidents Fellows and the current president, with the immediate past-president serving as chairperson, initiates and controls the officer and governor selection process.

b. The N&E Committee chair solicits members for open-position nominations through online submission or email communications.

 c. The N&E Committee proposes a ballot of two to three nominated candidates for each officer and governor position.

d. The Committee selects candidates according to criteria that the committee deems important for the position, including commitment and dedication to serving IACMR, ability to be responsive and timely in running IACMR business and related activities, ability and enthusiasm to energize prospective members, and motivation and demonstrated experience in promoting management research in and about China. It is required the candidate to run the election to be a fee-paying member of IACMR.

 e. Election ballots list candidates in alphabetical order within each position. All candidates submit brief written statements indicating their qualifications, their vision for IACMR, and other relevant information as specified.

f. Active, fee-paying members are eligible to cast their votes. The candidate receiving the most votes wins. In case of ties, the N&E Committee consults with the Executive Committee to choose the winner.

I. Positions of 2024 IACMR Officer Election are as follows:

– Vice-president/program chair 2027
– Representatives-at-large (the Americas, Europe, Asia-Pacific, and the Chinese Mainland)
– Ph.D. Student Representative (One from the Chinese Mainland and one from an overseas university; non-voting member of the board)

You can make nominations for whichever positions you choose, and you may nominate up to two people for each position. Please click this link (https://www.wjx.top/vm/OvRkfwk.aspx# ) to make your nominations! 

II. The responsibilities of the positions.

  • Vice-president/program chair
    ·         Serves as program chair of 2027 biennial conferences
    ·         Selects conference themes
    ·         Prepares calls for submissions
    ·         Selects track chairs and recruits reviewers for conference submissions
    ·         Works with the chair of the Local Arrangement Committee
    ·         Forms conference program committees
    ·         Works with Past-President Fellows to form keynote panels
    ·         Selects the best reviewers for conferences
    ·         Serves as chair of the Best Conference Paper Award Committee
    ·         Prepares conference program, including academic program contents and relevant events.
    ·   Participate in the yearly IACMR Board meeting (in-person) and monthly IACMR Executive Committee meetings (online)
  • Representatives-at-large
    ·         May serve as track chairs at the biennial conference (subject to Program Chair’s decision)
    ·         Serve as chairs of standing committees
    ·         Develop membership bases in their regions
    ·         Raise IACMR presence at various meetings in their regions
    ·         Perform other duties designated by the Board, President or Program Chair, or job description-specified duties
    ·         Participate in the yearly IACMR Board meeting (in-person)
  • Ph.D. Student Representative
    ·         Act as the bridge between the Association and doctoral students
    ·         Develop membership bases among doctoral students
    ·         Raise IACMR presence at various meetings in their regions
    ·         Perform any other designated tasks
    ·         Participate in the yearly IACMR Board meeting (in-person)

III. Schedule of 2024 New Officer Election

a. Jan 26: release Call for Nominations
b. March 15: deadline for nominations
c. April 15: voting opens
d. May 1: deadline for voting
e. May 20: results announced

When you nominate a candidate, please keep in mind that IACMR mission is to advance “the science, education and practice” of Chinese management, and our core values are “Pursuit of Excellence, Source of Inspiration, Responsible Scholarship and Spirit of Service”.

Members of the Nomination and Election Committee 2024 (Members in alphabetical order of the last name)

Zhi-Xue Zhang, Peking University (Chair)
Chao Chuan Chen, Rutgers University
Xiao-Ping Chen, University of Washington 
Jiing-Lih Larry Farh, CEIBS 
Ray Friedman, Vanderbilt University
Runtian Jing, Shanghai Jiao Tong University
Neng Liang, CEIBS
Anne Tsui, Arizona State University/Peking University
Jia Lin Xie, University of Toronto
Shuming Zhao, Nanjing University
Jing Zhou, Rice University