Training Programs

Call for Applications

Download the PDF version of the call here


You are cordially invited to apply for the Dissertation Proposal Development Workshop to be held from July 11-14, 2009, at the University of Electronic Science and Technology of China (UESTC) in Chengdu, China. The purposes of the workshop are to provide instructions on developing and managing a dissertation that will make a meaningful contribution to knowledge and practice, to introduce the major research methods involved in designing a high quality dissertation, and to build relationships with world-class management scholars (see the Faculty Advisor List at the end of this document). The 4-day program will consist of lectures and intensive discussion sessions for developing your dissertation proposals. The workshop’s ultimate goal is to help develop dissertations that will be publishable in international (English) academic journals. The instructional language for the workshop is English.

Qualification Requirement

To qualify for participation in this workshop, you must meet the following criteria:

(a) You are a student entering year 2 or 3 of your doctoral studies, or
(b) You are a faculty member who supervises or works with doctoral students
(c) You are proficient in reading, speaking, and writing English
(d) You submit a one-page résumé summarizing your education, work, and research experiences
(e) You submit a one-page summary of your tentative dissertation idea (for students only)
(f) You are a paid member of IACMR

Workshop Arrangements

Students/faculty with similar research interests will be put into the same discussion group. During the intensive discussion sessions, each group will be led by a faculty advisor who will help to provide developmental feedback on the research proposals. Workshop participants will benefit from in-depth feedback and discussions of their proposal drafts with the faculty advisors guiding the sessions and the other participants working in similar research areas. The discussions will focus on constructive comments and recommendations for improving proposals to a quality level that warrants future publications in high caliber journals.

Application Procedures

The entire application should have the following components:
(1)** a cover letter (one page) confirming IACMR membership and membership expiration date
(2) one page résumé, and
(3) one page dissertation idea, all written in English.

** You may obtain a cover letter by logging in your member ID in, and select “Update Your Membership Information” under “Member Services”. Make a screen capture of that member information page with expiry date as cover letter.

Put this 3-page file in an MS 2003 WORD (2007 WORD or PDF are NOT acceptable) and submit it electronically to the workshop website on The workshop website will be open by December 15, 2008.

The application deadline is January 15, 2009, and space for the workshop is limited. We encourage you to apply early. We give priority to group applications with multiple students and one or two faculty members from the same school. Your application will be evaluated by the workshop committee and a final acceptance/rejection decision will be made by March 30th, 2009.

Sponsors and Fees

This workshop is generously sponsored by the IACMR, UESTC, Nanjing University, Southwest Jiaotong University, Southwest University of Finance and Economics, Sichuan University, and the National Science Foundation of China. The workshop registration fees will be RMB500/student and RMB1000/faculty to cover the costs of books and other workshop materials.

Faculty Advisors (in alphabetical order)

1. Xiao-Ping Chen, University of Washington
2. Gordon Cheung, Chinese University of Hong Kong
3. Larry Farh, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
4. Robert Hoskisson, Arizona State University
5. Kwok Leung, City University of Hong Kong
6. Hui Liao, University of Maryland
7. Kevin Steensma, University of Washington
8. Anne Tsui, Arizona State University
9. David Whetten, Brigham Young University
10. Shuming Zhao, Nanjing University
11. Changhui Zhou, Peking University
12. Jing Zhou, Rice University