News Updates

You Are Invited to an Award Ceremony and Celebration at AOM!

Dear IACMR Member,


Sunday, August 11, 2019, Sheraton Boston Hotel, Independence West Room,

4:30pm – 6:30pm followed by Reception till 8:00 pm

Jointly sponsored by the International Association for Chinese Management Research (IACMR) and Responsible Research in Business and Management ( (RRBM)


Are you curious about the meaning of “Responsible Research?” Do you want to find out how to engage in research that yields credible knowledge, impacts practice, and contributes to a better world? We will have those answers and more at the “IACMR-RRBM Responsible Research in Management Award” Ceremony and Celebration to be held in Boston, the location of the Academy of Management meeting.

This IACMR-RRBM Award launched in Fall, 2017. It recognizes excellent scholarship that focuses on important issues for business and society and uses sound research methods to yield credible results. Nominated publications that met the criteria for responsible research and were published within five years of the nomination date were rigorously reviewed by a panel of accomplished reviewers (many are AOM Fellows) In 2018, the Award added an executive review committee of leading companies globally into the evaluation process, through which a short list of papers and books post-academic review were further evaluated by the executives for their application to practice or policy. See here for the list of 2018-2019 reviewers.

In this Award ceremony, we honor the authors of the 12 winners (10 articles and two books) selected during the Inaugural year (2017-2018) and authors of three Distinguished Winners, 12 Winners and eight Finalists selected during the second year (2018-2019). These winners authored 18 articles and five books. The winners over the two years represent less than 20% of the total number of nominations. These studies are truly the “best of the best” published work that exemplifies the Seven Principles of responsible research , contributing credible evidence and striving for broad and significant societal benefits.

Please join us in the first-ever Responsible Research in Management Award Ceremony, to honor the authors of the winning research projects. We look forward to welcoming you to this celebration of highly impactful works, both in the knowledge created and in their potential value for society!


Neng Liang and Ray Friedman

Past and Current Presidents of IACMR

Anne S. Tsui, Bill Glick, and Mary Jo Bitner

Co-Chairs of RRBM Working Board